2022 Awards

Professor Eugene Athan OAM was awarded the IMPACT Institute Clinical Researcher Award 2022

Dr Debbie Ashtree was awarded the Australasian Epidemiological Association’s Early Career Professional Development Award to support her research with the Global burden of disease Lifestyle And mental Disorders (GLAD) taskforce (September)

Eslam Ahmed PhD candidate
Dean McInnes Student Travel award 2022

Dr Kara Anderson
IMPACT PhD Completion award

Rina Barhoum, Honours student
2022 Honours Improvement Award
2022 Honours Publication Writing Award

Dr Faiza Basheer
“Outstanding Publication Award for Round 10/2022″ for the period May-June 2022. The publication title is “In vivo impact of JAK3 A573V mutation revealed using zebrafish”

Dr Jess Davis was awarded the Outstanding PhD Completion award by IMPACT (August)

Dr Samantha Dawson was awarded the Outstanding PhD Completion by IMPACT (March)

Professor Tania de Koning Ward
Australian Society for Parasitology 2022 Bancroft Mackerra’s Medal which recognises outstanding contributions of its members to the Science of Parasitology

Rebecca Edgar, PhD candidate of Tania de Koning Ward
Best publication award

Izel Eraslan PhD candidate
2022 Barwon Health Deakin University Best Research Poster Award/Prize
Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS) Poster – International (France, Paris)
Australasian Neuroscience Society Poster – Domestic (Australia, Melbourne)
Brain Art Competition: Runner up prize (second place/prize) – Domestic (Australia, Melbourne)

Rifka Fayaz, a PhD student from John Stambas’ lab
The person’s choice award 3MT competition (Three Minute Thesis)

Dr Malcolm Forbes
The Richard. C. Hallowes Prize as the best senior medical staff teacher and mentor across Barwon Health for 2022

Dr Sarah Gauci was awarded a SOLVE-CHD Conference Support Scholarship to attend the ACRA Annual Scientific Meeting 2022 (August)

Dr Stephen Gill
Academic Study Program – awarded for 2023
Winner IMPACT Outstanding International Engagement Award 2

Alfred Deakin Professor Felice Jacka OAM was named in the 2022 Highly Cited Researchers list from Clarivate (November)

Tayla John received a Highly Commended Finalist Award at the Victorian Public Health Care Awards for her Adult Autism Consultation and Evaluation (AACE) project (October)

Melissa Lane, PhD candidate
The Nutrition Society of Australia’s ‘Student Travel Award’ ($260 Australian dollars [AU$])
Geelong Music Community Collective’s ‘Student Travel Award’ (AU$1,500)
Australasian Society of Lifestyle Medicine’s ‘Student Scholarship’ (AU$1,000)

Dr Wolf Marx was awarded a 2022 Victorian Young Tall Poppy Science award by the Australian Institute of Policy and Science for his research on nutrition and lifestyle in the treatment of mental illness (September)

Amelia McGuiness was awarded Best Publication by IMPACT (March)

Professor Richard Page
Australian Orthopaedic Association Service Award – as Scientific Secretary
Stephen Gill – academic travel award

Dr Christine Roder
Best Research Poster -Medical category at the 2022 Barwon Health and Deakin University Research Awards for my work “Pregnancy –a key moment for engaging women with hepatitis B in care”.
Best Research Paper (shortlist) – Researcher clinician category at the 2022 Barwon Health and Deakin University Research Awards
Top 10 articles for 2022 (shortlist) by the Editor in chief at the MJA. For paper “Area‐level social and economic factors and the local incidence of SARS‐CoV‐2 infections in Victoria during 2020”

Dr Heidi Staudacher was awarded Best Publication by IMPACT (June)

Kavindi Weerasinghe, PhD candidate
Deakin University award 3MT 2022-Runner-up: SOM heat
Deakin University award for people’s choice best poster presentation at faculty of health HDR conference
Deakin university certificate for best attendance: 2022 SOM WIP research seminar series

Emma West, PhD candidate
Rotary Geelong – Past District Governor Geoff Betts and Betty Betts Early Career Mental Health Researcher Award

Andrew Nagi Wiesa
Visualise Your thesis 2022 finalist

Madi West was awarded an Academy for Eating Disorders (AED) Student/Early Career Scholarship to attend the International (virtual) Conference on Eating Disorders (June)

Anna Wrobel, PhD candidate
Nominee for the CSL Florey Next Generation Award – Australian Institute of Policy & Science, St Leonards, NSW, Australia
Fan Favourite PhD Talk – 2022 IMPACT Showcase, Deakin University, Geelong, VIC, Australia